Ex. 3.2: Postcard views

1. I was asked to “gather a selection of postcards”, which was easy as my family have received hundreds over the years.

DSC_0057

Whilst I don’t have previous experience with all of the destinations, so I thought that I would focus on one place in particular: New York.

DSC_0058

Looking at them closely, I can’t help but think these postcards exists purely to ‘sell’ the idea of New York. Rather to memorialise a certain place or event, they seem designed to document landmarks and views and draw more visitors. They certainly aren’t ‘arty’ (or even photographically any good, in my opinion – bad composition and lazy), nor do they hold any emotional, ‘sublime’ quality.

 

 

2. It is Graham Clark’s opinion that the photographer of a landscape is always an outsider. This may well be true on many occasions. However, I believe that knowledge and experience of, and personal history with a landscape or place can lead to an intimate ‘inside’ knowledge.

Photographers will always approach a subject from their own perspective, but I don’t believe one can say that will always be that of an ‘outsider’, of someone who isn’t able to capture the reality of the place.

This entry was posted in Part Three: Landscape as political text. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

